Welcome to Kipahulu Area

Back in the 1970s ʻOheʻo Gulch was dubbed the ‘Seven Sacred Pools’ as part of a tourism promotion, but at the request of community elders, park staff use the traditional names for the stream and gulch. ‘Seven pools’ is a complete misnomer anyway since there are 24 pools in all, extending from the ocean to Waimoku Falls, and they were never sacred – but they certainly are divine.

For drivers, note that there is no in-park access between the Summit Area and Kipahulu. For this reason you will most likely be visiting the two sections on different days.

Top experiences in Kipahulu Area

Travel guides

Starting at $38.99

Image for

Kipahulu Area in detail