New Year’s Day 1 January

Independence Day 20 March

Youth Day 21 March

Martyrs’ Day 9 April

Labour Day 1 May

Republic Day 25 July

Women’s Day 13 August

Evacuation Day 15 October

Islamic Holidays

The celebration dates for the main Muslim religious holidays are calculated according to the lunar-based Hejira calendar, which is approximately 11 days shorter than the solar-based Gregorian (Western) calendar. In Western terms, this means that the holidays occur at different times each year and are dependent on sightings of the moon.

Ras As Sana New Year’s day.

Moulid An Nabi A lesser feast celebrating the birth of the Prophet Muhammad.

Ramadan The month in which the Quran was first revealed, and it is a time when the faithful are called upon to renew their relationship with God by refraining from eating, drinking, smoking and having sex between dawn and dusk. Iftar, the evening meal that breaks the day’s fast, is a nightly celebration. Muslims in Tunisia observe Ramadan, though often to varying degrees.

Eid Al Fitr The Festival of Breaking of the Fast (also known as Eid As Sagheer, the Small Feast) marks the end of Ramadan, and generally lasts for four or five days.

Hajj The fifth pillar of Islam, a sacred duty of all who can afford it, is to make the pilgrimage to Mecca – the hajj. It can be done at any time, but at least one pilgrimage should be accomplished in Zuul Hijja, the 12th month of the Muslim year. The hajj culminates in the ritual slaughter of a lamb and the Feast of the Sacrifice (also known as the Grand Feast, or Eid Al Kebir), which is repeated throughout the Muslim world. Kairouan is the fourth-holiest Islamic city and is also a pilgrimage site for Muslims from all over the world.