Time

  • The Netherlands is in the Central European time zone (same as Berlin and Paris), GMT/UTC plus one hour. Noon in Amsterdam is 11am in London, 6am in New York, 3am in San Francisco and 9pm in Sydney.
  • For daylight savings time, clocks are put forward one hour at 2am on the last Sunday in March and back again at 3am on the last Sunday in October.
  • When telling the time, be aware that the Dutch use ‘half’ to indicate ‘half before’ the hour. If you say ‘half eight’ (8.30 in many forms of English), a Dutch person will take this to mean 7.30.