Public Holidays

The two main periods when Spaniards go on holiday are Semana Santa (the week leading up to Easter Sunday) and July and August. At these times accommodation in resorts can be scarce and transport heavily booked, but other places are often half-empty.

There are at least 14 official holidays a year – some observed nationwide, some locally. When a holiday falls close to a weekend, Spaniards like to make a puente (bridge), meaning they take the intervening day off too. Occasionally when some holidays fall close, they make an acueducto (aqueduct)! Here are the national holidays:

  • Año Nuevo (New Year’s Day) 1 January
  • Viernes Santo (Good Friday) March/April
  • Fiesta del Trabajo (Labour Day) 1 May
  • La Asunción (Feast of the Assumption) 15 August
  • Fiesta Nacional de España (National Day) 12 October
  • La Inmaculada Concepción (Feast of the Immaculate Conception) 8 December
  • Navidad (Christmas) 25 December

Regional governments set five holidays and local councils two more. Common dates include the following:

  • Epifanía (Epiphany) or Día de los Reyes Magos (Three Kings’ Day) 6 January
  • Jueves Santo (Good Thursday) March/April; not observed in Catalonia and Valencia.
  • Corpus Christi June; the Thursday after the eighth Sunday after Easter Sunday.
  • Día de Santiago Apóstol (Feast of St James the Apostle) 25 July
  • Día de Todos los Santos (All Saints Day) 1 November
  • Día de la Constitución (Constitution Day) 6 December