Public Holidays

The two main periods when Spaniards (and Mallorcans are no real exception) go on holiday are Semana Santa (the week leading up to Easter Sunday) and August, which also happens to be when half of Europe descends on Mallorca. Accommodation can be hard to find and transport is put under strain.

There are 14 official holidays a year, to which most towns add at least one to mark their patron saint’s day. Some places have several traditional feast days, not all of which are official holidays, but which are often a reason for partying.

The main island-wide public holidays:

Cap d’Any (New Year’s Day) 1 January

Epifania del Senyor (Epiphany) 6 January – in Palma, a landing of the Three Wise Men (Reis Mags) is staged in the port, followed by a procession

Dia de les Illes Balears (Balearic Islands Day) 1 March

Dijous Santa (Holy Thursday) March/April

Divendres Sant (Good Friday) March/April

Diumenge de Pasqua (Easter Sunday) March/April

Festa del Treball (Labour Day) 1 May

L’Assumpció (Feast of the Assumption) 15 August

Festa Nacional d’Espanya (Spanish National Day) 12 October

Tots Sants (All Saints) 1 November

Dia de la Constitució (Constitution Day) 6 December

L’Immacula da Concepció (Feast of the Immaculate Conception) 8 December

Nadal (Christmas) 25 December

Segona Festa de Nadal (Boxing Day) 26 December