Checking flights...


All of Spain’s airports share the user-friendly website and flight information telephone number of Aena, the Spanish national airport authority.

Airports & Airlines

All seven major Canary Islands have airports. Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and, increasingly, La Palma absorb nearly all the direct international flights and those from mainland Spain, while the others are principally for inter-island hops.

The following main airports handle international flights:

Aeropuerto Tenerife Norte, Los Rodeos Handles just about all inter-island flights and most of those to the Spanish mainland.

Aeropuerto Tenerife Sur, Reina Sofía Handles the remaining scheduled flights, and virtually all charter flights to the island.

Aeropuerto de Gran Canaria Located 16km south of Las Palmas.

Aeropuerto César Manrique–Lanzarote Located 6km southwest of the capital, Arrecife.

Aeropuerto de Fuerteventura Located 6km south of the capital, Puerto del Rosario.

Dozens of airlines, many of which you’ll never have heard of, fly into the Canary Islands. There are direct flights to cities in Morocco, Senegal, Venezuela, Israel, Madeira and many other destinations, however, there are no non-stop flights from North America to the archipelago. Increasingly, there are flights into La Palma Airport, including flights from Gatwick (Easyjet) and Manchester (Tui Airways) in the UK.

Departure Tax

There is no departure tax in the Canary Islands at present (though consideration is being given to


Just about every visitor flies into the Canaries; the only alternative is to take a ferry from mainland Spain.

Trasmediterránea Runs a weekly ferry service between Cádiz on the Spanish mainland and Santa Cruz de Tenerife (49 hours), with stops at Arrecife in Lanzarote (31 hours), Las Palmas de Gran Canaria (40 hours) and Santa Cruz de La Palma (64 hours).

Naviera Armas Runs a weekly service from Huelva on the Spanish mainland stopping at Arrecife in Lanzarote (27 hours), Las Palmas de Gran Canaria (32 hours) and Santa Cruz de Tenerife (36 hours).