The Royal Monastery of St Mary of Pedralbes, founded in 1326 by Queen Elisenda of Montcada, third wife of James II of Aragon, provides a unique cultural and historical record of the community of Poor Clare Nuns who lived there practically without a break from 1327 to 1982. Its artistic heritage has become a reference for the study of the customs, fashions and models of secular and religious life. The exhibitions "Petras Albas", "The Treasures of the Monastery," "Plants, Remedies and Apothecaries", "Murals in the Spotlight: the Paintings in St Michael's Chapel" as well as the restored Chapel itself, illustrate the museum complex.
Apart from its architectural value, the Monastery of Pedralbes portrays monastic life down through history, thanks to the many objects and works of art it contains, and contributes to an understanding of the life of the cloistered community that lived there until 1983, when the monastery was converted into a museum. According to the regulations of the center is not allowed to enter the monastery with backpacks, bags or items that exceed 25x25cm, helmets, tripods, voice amplification devices, sticks or any chair other than wheelchairs. Eating, drinking or smoking on the grounds aren’t allowed neither, as well as taking pictures with flash in the exhibition halls or sitting on the ledge between the columns of the cloister. Due to the respect for the essence of the place and deference to the religious community, is not allowed to enter the monastery with any vintage clothing, costumes or similar.Regarding the use of the monastery as a place, you can only carry out cultural acts, excluding other types of activities such as: films recording, commercials, banquets, weddings, and photo sessions with models, fashion shows, marketing campaigns or political events.