Public Holidays

Eight Korean public holidays are set according to the solar calendar and three according to the lunar calendar, meaning they fall on different days each year. Restaurants, shops and tourist sights stay open during most holidays, but may close over the three-day Lunar New Year and Chuseok (Thanksgiving) holidays. Buddha's Birthday, while not a public holiday, can be a very busy time with accommodation booked out, but is a festive period to visit Buddhist temples. School holidays mean that beaches and resort areas are busy in August.

New Year’s Day 1 January

Lunar New Year 5 February 2019, 25 January 2020, 12 February 2021

Independence Movement Day 1 March

Children’s Day 5 May

Memorial Day 6 June

Constitution Day 17 July

Liberation Day 15 August

Chuseok 12 September 2019, 30 September 2020, 20 September 2021

National Foundation Day 3 October

Christmas Day 25 December