Packed with traditional houses and pensioners in traditional garb, this fervently Orthodox village (8km off the road south from Şieu) has as its main draw its 17th-century wooden Orthodox church. Under its rooftop was found the Ieud Codex, a document dating from 1391–92 considered to be the oldest example of written Romanian. Today it is kept in the archives of the Romanian Academy in Bucharest.
Ieud’s other wooden church, now Graeco-Catholic in denomination, was built in 1717. The church, at the southern end of the village, is unique to the region as it has no porch. It houses one of the largest collections of icons on glass found in Maramureş. Cross the nearby bridge to the modest Ethnographic Museum contained in two traditional Maramureș cottages.