Time

  • Peru is five hours behind Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). It’s the same as Eastern Standard Time (EST) in North America. At noon in Lima, it’s 9am in Los Angeles, 11am in Mexico City, noon in New York, 5pm in London and 4am (following day) in Sydney.
  • Daylight Saving Time (DST) isn’t used in Peru.
  • Punctuality is not one of the things that Latin America is famous for, so be prepared to wait around. Buses rarely depart or arrive on time. Savvy travelers should allow some flexibility in their itineraries.