The White House announced on Friday that President Obama has designated three new national monuments in the United States.

Waco mammoth site.
Waco Mammoth site.

The monuments are Barryessa Snow Mountain in California, Waco Mammoth in Texas and Basin and Range in Nevada; together they comprise over one million acres of public land. President Obama has so far designated 19 monuments, protecting over 260 million acres of public lands from development. Read more:

Explore related stories