Lonely Planet Writer

California hoverboard riders must be over 16 and wear helmet

As people across the country enjoy the new hoverboards they received for Christmas, California has now passed a law concerning the use of the trendy new toy in public spaces.

California regulates the use of hoverboards.
California regulates the use of hoverboards. Image by Soar Boards / CC BY 2.0

The law mandates that riders must be 16 years or older, must wear a helmet at all times, and may only use the boards on roads with a speed limit of 35 mph or less, unless they use a bike lane. The boards also may not go faster than 15 mph and must be outfitted with reflectors for night-time use. These new rules go into effect 1 January and violations are punishable with a $250 fine.

Read more: laist.com