Public Holidays

On official national holidays, banks, post offices, government offices and many other offices and shops close throughout Mexico.

Año Nuevo (New Year’s Day) January 1

Día de la Constitución (Constitution Day) Observed on the first Monday of February.

Día de Nacimiento de Benito Juárez (anniversary of Benito Juárez’s birth) Observed on the third Monday of March.

Día del Trabajo (Labor Day) May 1

Día de la Independencia (Independence Day) September 16

Día de la Revolución (Revolution Day) Observed on the third Monday of November.

Día de Navidad (Christmas Day) December 25

National holidays that fall on Saturday or Sunday are often switched to the nearest Friday or Monday.

In addition, many offices and businesses close on the following optional holidays:

Día de los Santos Reyes (Three Kings’ Day, Epiphany) January 6

Día de la Bandera (Day of the National Flag) February 24

Viernes Santo (Good Friday) Two days before Easter Sunday; March or April

Cinco de Mayo (anniversary of Mexico’s victory over the French at Puebla) May 5

Día de la Madre (Mother's Day) May 10

Día de la Raza (commemoration of Columbus’ arrival in the New World) October 12

Día de Muertos (Day of the Dead) November 2

Día de Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe (Day of Our Lady of Guadalupe) December 12