Public Holidays

Malta observes 14 national public holidays. Few restaurants and sights are open on major holidays (eg Good Friday, Christmas Day, New Year's Day), and buses run to a limited schedule.

New Year's Day 1 January

St Paul's Shipwreck 10 February

St Joseph's Day 19 March

Good Friday March/April

Freedom Day 31 March

Labour Day 1 May

Commemoration of 1919 independence riots 7 June

Feast of Sts Peter and Paul (L-Imnarja festival) 29 June

Feast of the Assumption 15 August

Victory Day 8 September

Independence Day 21 September

Feast of the Immaculate Conception 8 December

Republic Day 13 December

Christmas Day 25 December