Tourist Information

Tourism Malaysia (www.tourism.gov.my) has a good network of overseas offices, which are useful for pre-departure planning. Unfortunately, its domestic offices are less helpful and are often unable to give specific information about destinations and transport. Nonetheless, they do stock some decent brochures as well as the excellent Map of Malaysia.

Within Malaysia there are also a number of state tourist-promotion organisations, which often have more detailed information about specific areas. These include:

  • Sabah Tourism (www.sabahtourism.com)
  • Pahang Tourism (www.pahangtourism.org.my)
  • Perak Tourism (www.peraktourism.com.my)
  • Sarawak Tourism (http://sarawaktourism.com)
  • Penang Tourism (www.visitpenang.gov.my)
  • Tourism Johor (http://tourism.johor.my)
  • Tourism Selangor (www.tourismselangor.my)
  • Tourism Terengganu (http://tourism.terengganu.gov.my)