Checking flights...

Air

International flights come into Ivato airport, 20km north of Antananarivo (Tana). The airports in Majunga (Mahajanga), Diego Suarez (Antsiranana) and Tamatave (Toamasina) also handle flights from Réunion, Mauritius and the Comoros.

Air Austral Airline serving France and Indian Ocean islands, including Madagascar, Réunion and Mauritius.

Air France French carrier with up to five flights a week between Paris and Antananarivo.

Air Madagascar The embattled national carrier has direct flights from France, Thailand, Guangzhou (China) and neighbouring Indian Ocean islands. The airline has had financial difficulties for some years, however, and is plagued by delays and cancellations.

Air Mauritius Flies between Mauritius and Tana four times a week.

Corsair Up to three flights a week between Paris and Antananarivo.

Kenya Airways (www.kenya-airways.com) Two flights a day between Nairobi and Tana.

South African Airlink (www.flyairlink.com) Daily flights between Johannesburg and Tana and a weekly flight between Johannesburg and Nosy Be.

Tickets

Because there isn’t much competition to fly to Madagascar, airfares can be expensive.

Expect to pay €800 to €1500 for a return ticket from Europe (where there are more options), and at least €1500 from North America or Australia.

Sea

Yachts regularly sail to Madagascar to/from South Africa, Mozambique, Mayotte, Réunion and Mauritius, and travellers may be able to join the crossing as crew members. Your best options to find a boat are online forums, word of mouth and asking around at ports (Nosy Be in particular).

Tours

The following European, American and Australian tour operators offer all-inclusive trips to Madagascar, whether tailor-made or as part of a group.

Adventure Associates (www.adventureassociates.com; Australia) Runs two trips a year to Madagascar, some of them led by famous wildlife TV presenter Richard Morecroft.

Baobab Travel (www.baobab.nl; Netherlands) Offers a south and east circuit.

Comptoir de Madagascar (www.comptoirdemadagascar.com; France) Numerous circuits offered, from general discovery to activity-led (mountain biking) and beach-based (Nosy Be, Île Sainte Marie etc).

Cortez Travel & Expeditions (www.air-mad.com; USA) Well-established operator with an agency in the USA and one in Madagascar. Offers organised tours as well as customised trips.

Madagaskar Travel (www.madagaskar-travel.de; Germany) General and specialist fauna-and-flora itineraries.

Priori (www.priori.ch; Madagascar) Cultural and wildlife tours, run by a Swiss national who is a long-time Madagascar resident.

Rainbow Tours (www.rainbowtours.co.uk; UK) Specialist and general-interest guided trips to Madagascar; highly recommended by travellers.

Reef & Rainforest Tours (www.reefandrainforest.co.uk; UK) Focuses on top-end wildlife holidays.

Terre Voyages (www.terre-voyages.com; France) A wide range of tours to Madagascar.

Wildlife Worldwide (www.wildlifeworldwide.com; UK) Wildlife-viewing tours.

Zingg Event Travel (www.zinggsafaris.com; Switzerland) Individual and group circuits.

Land