Drinking & Nightlife

Other than cafes, where you can sip dark Turkish coffee or tea, and wine on Shabbat in the Jewish Quarter, there's little opportunity for a drink in the Old City. Unlike Judaism, Islam strictly prohibits alcohol. Even foods with trace amounts of alcohol, or whose preparation involves alcohol (eg vanilla extract), are haram (forbidden).