The picturesque towns of Pitigliano, Sovana and Sorano form a triangle enclosing a dramatic landscape where local buildings have been constructed from the volcanic porous rock called tufo since Etruscan times. This area is known as the Città del Tufo (City of the Tufo) or, less commonly, the Paese del Tufo (Land of the Tufo).