Public Holidays

Following are the national public holidays in Indonesia. Unless stated, they vary from year to year. Also, there are many regional holidays.

Tahun Baru Masehi (New Year's Day) 1 January

Tahun Baru Imlek (Chinese New Year) Late January to early February

Wafat Yesus Kristus (Good Friday) Late March or early April

Nyepi (Balinese New Year) Bali closes down for one day, usually in March, sometimes April

Hari Buruh (Labour Day) 1 May

Hari Waisak May

Kenaikan Yesus Kristus (Ascension of Christ) May

Hari Proklamasi Kemerdekaan (Independence Day) 17 August

Hari Natal (Christmas Day) 25 December

The following Islamic holidays have dates that change each year.

Muharram Islamic New Year

Maulud Nabi Muhammad Birthday of the Prophet Muhammad

Isra Miraj Nabi Muhammad Ascension of the Prophet Muhammad

Idul Fitri Also known as Lebaran, this two-day national public holiday marks the end of Ramadan; avoid travel due to crowds.

Idul Adha Islamic feast of the sacrifice.