Time

There are three time zones in Indonesia.

  • Java, Sumatra, and West and Central Kalimantan are on Western Indonesian Time (GMT/UTC plus seven hours).
  • Bali, Nusa Tenggara, South and East Kalimantan, and Sulawesi are on Central Indonesian Time (GMT/UTC plus eight hours).
  • Papua and Maluku are on Eastern Indonesian Time (GMT/UTC plus nine hours).

In a country straddling the equator, there is no daylight-saving time.

Allowing for variations due to summer or daylight-saving time, when it is noon in Jakarta it is 9pm the previous day in San Francisco, midnight in New York, 5am in London, 1pm in Singapore, Bali and Makassar, 2pm in Jayapura and 3pm in Melbourne and Sydney.