Media

  • Magazines Incisive current-affairs magazines include Frontline (www.frontline.in), India Today (www.indiatoday.in), The Week (www.theweek.in), Tehelka (http://tehelka.com) and Outlook (www.outlookindia.com).
  • Newpapers Major English-language dailies include the Hindustan Times (www.hindustantimes.com), Times of India (https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com), Indian Express (https://indianexpress.com), The Hindu (www.thehindu.com), Daily News & Analysis (DNA; www.dnaindia.com) and Economic Times (www.economictimes.indiatimes.com). Regional English-language and local vernacular publications are found nationwide.
  • Radio Government-controlled All India Radio (AIR; www.allindiaradio.gov.in) is India’s national broadcaster, with over 400 stations broadcasting local and international news. There are also private FM channels broadcasting music, current affairs, talkback and more.
  • TV The national (government) TV broadcaster is Doordarshan (DD; http://doordarshan.gov.in). More people watch satellite and cable TV; English-language channels include BBC, CNN, Star World, HBO and Discovery.