• In September 2018 India's Supreme Court decriminalised homosexuality, which had been banned in 2013 after being decriminalised since 2009. The Supreme Court gave legal recognition to transgender people as a third gender in a landmark 2014 ruling.
  • Indian society remains conservative, however, especially outside of the big cities. LGBT travellers should be discreet, and public displays of affection are frowned upon for both homosexual and heterosexual couples.
  • There are gay scenes (and Gay Pride marches) in a number of cities including Mumbai, Chennai, Bengaluru, Puducherry and Hyderabad, as well as in Delhi, and a holiday gay scene in Goa.

Resources

Bombay Dost (www.bombaydost.co.in) A reputable Mumbai-based LGBTQ publication.

Gay Bombay (https://gaybombay.org) Lists gay events and offers support and advice.

Gaylaxy (www.gaylaxymag.com) Probably India's best gay e-zine, including news, blogs, articles, reviews and fashion.

Gaysi (http://gaysifamily.com) A pioneering, powerful website and magazine featuring LGBTQ writing and issues; also hosts events.

Indian Dost (https://indiandost.com) News and information including contact groups in India.

Indja Pink (www.indjapink.co.in) India’s first gay boutique travel agency, founded by well-known Indian fashion designer Sanjay Malhotra.

LGBT Events India (www.lgbteventsindia.com) Nightlife and other events.

Nomadic Boys (https://nomadicboys.com) Helpful gay travel blog, including India coverage.

Orinam (http://orinam.net) Chennai-based support group for advice and events. Handy on Twitter @chennaipride, too.

Queer Azaadi Mumbai (www.queerazaadi.wordpress.com) Mumbai’s queer pride blog, with news.

Queer Ink (http://queer-ink.com) Develops, promotes and sells India-focused LGBTQ books and films.