In a landmark decision in 2018, India's Supreme Court ruled that gay sex in India was no longer a criminal offence. The ruling overturned a 2013 judgment that had upheld a colonial-era law under which gay sex was categorised as an 'unnatural offence'. The court also ruled that discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation is a fundamental violation of rights.

A 2014 ruling provided legal recognition of a third gender in India, a step towards increased acceptance of the large yet marginalised transgender (hijra) population.

Despite these rulings, India's LGBT+ scene remains relatively discreet, though less so in cities such as Delhi. The capital hosts the annual Queer Pride (www.facebook.com/delhiqueerpride) in November and also has a men-only gay guesthouse, Mister & Art House (www.misterandarthouse.com), in South Delhi. It's run by Delhi-based gay travel agency Indjapink (www.indjapink.co.in), which offers tailor-made tours. Founded by a well-known Indian fashion designer, the agency also has a guesthouse in Jaipur.

Serene Journeys (www.serenejourneys.co) is also recommended as a gay-friendly travel agency.

Nevertheless, LGBT+ visitors should be discreet in this conservative country. Public displays of affection are frowned upon for both homosexual and heterosexual couples.

Resources

Bombay Dost (http://bombaydost.co.in) Annual LGBTQ India magazine that's been running since 1990.

Gay Bombay (www.gaybombay.org) Lists gay events and offers support and advice.

Gaysi Zine (http://gaysifamily.com) Thoughtful monthly magazine and website featuring gay writing and issues.

Indian Dost (www.indiandost.com/gay.php) News and information, including contact groups in India.

Orinam (orinam.net) Has helpful, up-to-date info on LGBT+ support, events and pride marches in Chennai and Tamil Nadu.

Pink Pages (https://pink-pages.co.in) A national gay magazine that's been running for nearly 10 years.

Queer Azaadi Mumbai (http://queerazaadi.wordpress.com) Mumbai’s queer-pride blog, with news.

Queer Ink (www.queer-ink.com) Online bookstore and multimedia platform for India's LGBT+ community.

Salvation Star (https://en-gb.facebook.com/SalvationStar) An LGBT+ Facebook community in Mumbai that organises and promotes gay events and parties.