Georgetown sits on the east bank of the Demerara River, where the river empties into the Atlantic and a long seawall built along the coast prevents flooding. Moreover, an impressive Dutch canal system drains the city, which is actually 3m below sea level.

The city is divided into several small districts: Kingston (in the northwest); Cummingsburg, Alberttown, Queenstown and Newtown (in the center); Robbstown, Lacytown, Stabroek and Bourda (south of Church St); Werk-en-Rust, Wortmanville, Charlestown and Le Repentir (further south); Thomas Lands (east); and Kitty (further east).