French Public Holidays

The following jours fériés (public holidays) are observed in France:

  • New Year’s Day (Jour de l’An) 1 January
  • Easter Sunday & Monday (Pâques & lundi de Pâques) late March/April
  • May Day (Fête du Travail) 1 May
  • Victoire 1945 8 May – celebrates the Allied victory that ended WWII
  • Ascension Thursday (L’Ascension) May – the 40th day after Easter
  • Pentecost/Whit Sunday & Whit Monday (Pentecôte & lundi de Pentecôte) mid-May to mid-June – celebrated seventh Sunday after Easter
  • Bastille Day/National Day (Fête Nationale) 14 July
  • Assumption Day (L’Assomption) 15 August
  • All Saints’ Day (La Toussaint) 1 November
  • Remembrance Day (L’onze Novembre) 11 November – marks WWI armistice
  • Christmas (Noël) 25 December

Monégasque Public Holidays

Monaco shares the same holidays, except 8 May, 14 July and 11 November. Additionally:

  • Feast of Ste-Dévote 27 January – Monaco's saint's day
  • Corpus Christi June – three weeks after Ascension
  • National Day (Fête Nationale) 19 November
  • Immaculate Conception 8 December

School Holidays

Travelling during vacances scolaires (school holidays) isn't recommended, especially July and August; summer Saturdays are horrendous. French government staggers holidays by region.

Christmas-New Year

Easter Month-long spring break, beginning around Easter, students have overlapping 15-day holidays.

Summer The nationwide summer holiday lasts from the tail end of June until very early September.