Behind Kristinestad's Old Customs House is the charming red-wood Ulrika Eleonora Kyrkan, with a crooked shingled steeple. Built in 1700, it retains much of its original detail.
The red-brick New Church has a high wooden ceiling and an archetypal church-ship dedicated by mariners.
Sjöfartsmuseum was originally built in 1837 as a merchant’s home to dominate the market square. Today it showcases Kristinestad’s maritime heritage, especially ship-building, with reconstructions of a captain’s cabi…
In the port's heyday, travellers entering Kristinestad had to pay customs duty, collected at the Old Customs House, a smallish rust-wood building dating from 1720, just along from the imposing town hall.