Alvar Aalto Buildings

Jyväskylä's portfolio of Aalto-designed works include the main university campus (1953–70), Alvar Aalto Museo (1971–73), Keski-Suomen Museo (1957–62), the three buildings (1964–82) forming the town's Administrative and Cultural Centre, the Workers' Club Building (1924–25), the Vitatorni Apartment Tower (1962) and a scattering of houses in the residential parts of town. For a handy map showing notable architectural works in the town, including all of Aalto's buildings, go to Notable works outside town include the Säynätsalon Kunnantalo (1949–52) and Muuratsalon Koetalo (1952–53).