go to content go to search box go to global site navigation

Public Holidays

New Year’s Day (Uusaasta) 1 January

Independence Day (Iseseisvuspäev; Anniversary of 1918 declaration) 24 February

Good Friday (Suur reede) March/April

Easter Sunday (Lihavõtted) March/April

Spring Day (Kevadpüha) 1 May

Pentecost (Nelipühade) Seventh Sunday after Easter (May/June)

Victory Day (Võidupüha; commemorating the anniversary of the Battle of Võnnu, 1919); 23 June

St John’s Day (Jaanipäev, Midsummer’s Day) 24 June

Day of Restoration of Independence (Taasiseseisvumispäev; marking the country’s return to Independence in 1991); 20 August

Christmas Eve (Jõululaupäev) 24 December

Christmas Day (Jõulupüha) 25 December

Boxing Day (Teine jõulupüha) 26 December

Taken together, Victory Day and St John’s Day are the excuse for a week-long midsummer break for many people.