Tibet is officially a province of China and does not have tourist offices as such. Similarly, the Tibetan government-in-exile does not provide information specifically relating to travel in Tibet. Several of the pro-Tibet organisations abroad offer travel advice.

More Information

The following organisations do excellent work to help the people of the Tibetan plateau.

  • Braille Without Borders www.braillewithoutborders.org
  • Seva www.seva.ca/countries/tibet
  • Tibet Foundation www.tibet-foundation.org
  • Tibet Fund www.tibetfund.org
  • Tibetan Village Project www.tibetanvillageproject.org

Pro-Tibet organisations abroad have good news services and some cultural coverage. The Australia Tibet Council website includes an interesting guide for tourists visiting Tibet, as does Free Tibet (www.freetibet.org/about/travel-guide). The Tibet Support Group (www.tibet.org) offers online links to most pro-Tibet organisations.

  • Australia Tibet Council www.atc.org.au
  • Canada Tibet Committee www.tibet.ca
  • International Campaign for Tibet (ICT) www.savetibet.org
  • Students for a Free Tibet www.studentsforafreetibet.org
  • Tibet House www.tibethouse.org
  • Tibet Society www.tibetsociety.com
  • Tibetan Centre for Human Rights and Democracy www.tchrd.org
  • Tibet Watch www.tibetwatch.org