go to content go to search box go to global site navigation

Public Holidays

There are at least 14 official holidays a year in the Canary Islands. When a holiday falls close to a weekend, locals like to make a puente (bridge) – meaning they also take the intervening day off. On occasion, when a couple of holidays fall close to the same weekend, the puente becomes an acueducto (aqueduct)!

Following are the major national holidays, observed throughout the islands and the rest of Spain:

Año Nuevo (New Year’s Day) 1 January

Día de los Reyes Magos (Three Kings Day) 6 January

Viernes Santo (Good Friday) March/April

Fiesta del Trabajo (Labour Day) 1 May

La Asunción de la Virgen (Feast of the Assumption) 15 August

Día de la Hispanidad (National Day) 12 October

Todos los Santos (All Saint’s Day) 1 November. Gets particular attention on Tenerife.

La Inmaculada Concepción (Feast of the Immaculate Conception) 8 December

Navidad (Christmas) 25 December

In addition, the regional government sets a further five holidays, while local councils allocate another two. Common holidays include the following:

Martes de Carnival (Carnival Tuesday) February/March

Jueves Santo (Maundy Thursday) March/April

Día de las Islas Canarias (Canary Islands Day) 30 May

Día de San Juan (St John’s Day) 24 June

Día de Santiago Apóstol (Feast of St James the Apostle, Spain’s patron saint) 25 July. In Santa Cruz de Tenerife the day also marks the commemoration of the defence of the city against Horatio Nelson.

Día del Pino (Pine Tree Day) 8 September. This is particularly important on Gran Canaria.

Día de la Constitución (Constitution Day) 6 December