Public Holidays

During official public holidays all government offices, banks, post offices and major businesses will be closed. Hotels, restaurants, bars, national parks/reserves and museums usually stay open (unless the holiday coincides with a normal day off), as do most shops and petrol stations; border crossings and public transport continue to operate normally.

New Year’s Day 1 January

Liberation Day 3 March

Orthodox Easter March/April/May

May Day 1 May

St George’s Day/Bulgarian Army Day 6 May

Cyrillic Alphabet/Culture and Literacy Day 24 May

Unification Day 6 September

Bulgarian Independence Day 22 September

Christmas 25 & 26 December