Public Holidays

During official public holidays, all banks, government offices and major businesses are closed. However, hotels, restaurants, bars, smaller shops, petrol stations, museums and national parks and reserves stay open, while border crossings and public transport continue operating as normal. Government offices, banks and some businesses also take the day off after New Year’s Day, President’s Day, Botswana/Independence Day and Boxing Day.

New Year’s Day 1 January

Easter Good Friday, Easter Saturday and Easter Monday (March/April)

Labour Day 1 May

Ascension Day May/June, 40 days after Easter Sunday

Sir Seretse Khama Day 1 July

President’s Day Third Friday in July

Botswana/Independence Day 30 September

Christmas Day 25 December

Boxing Day 26 December