go to content go to search box go to global site navigation

Public Holidays

Public holidays vary from province to province. The following are celebrated nationally.

Año Nuevo (New Year’s Day) January 1

Día del Estado Plurinacional (Celebrates new constitution) January 22

Carnaval February/March

Semana Santa (Good Friday) March/April

Día del Trabajo (Labor Day) May 1

Corpus Christi May/June

Año Nuevo Andino Amazónico y del Chaco (Andean New Year) June 21

Día de la Independencia (Independence Day) August 6

Día de los Muertos (All Souls’ Day) November 2

Navidad (Christmas) December 25

Departmental Holidays

Not about to be outdone by its neighbors, each department has its own holiday.

Oruro February 10

Tarija April 15

Chuquisaca May 25

La Paz July 16

Cochabamba September 14

Santa Cruz September 24

Pando October 11

Potosí November 10

Beni November 18