Public holidays vary from province to province. The following is a list of the main national and provincial public holidays; for precise dates (which vary from year to year), check locally.

Nuevo Año (New Year’s Day) January 1

Carnaval February/March

Semana Santa (Easter Week) March/April

Día del Trabajo (Labor Day) May 1

Corpus Christi May/June

Día de la Independencia (Independence Day) August 6

Día de Colón (Columbus Day) October 12

Día de los Muertos (All Souls’ Day) November 2

Navidad (Christmas) December 25

Departmental Holidays

Not about to be outdone by their neighbors, each department has its own holiday.

Beni November 18

Chuquisaca May 25

Cochabamba September 14

La Paz July 16

Oruro February 10

Pando & Santa Cruz September 24

Potosí November 10

Tarija April 15