Bangalore becomes Bangaluru as 12 Indian cities renamed

Palace in Mysore, soon to be Mysuru.

Palace in Mysore, soon to be Mysuru. Image by Marc Dalmulder / CC BY 2.0

The government of India has announced that 12 Indian cities will be officially renamed on 1 November. Bangalore will be formally named Bengaluru, the name it has been operating under semi-officially since 2007, Mysore will become Mysuru, and Mangalore will become Mangaluru. This is just the latest phase in a nationwide campaign to restore Indian cities to their pre-colonial names, which has previously seen Bombay renamed as Mumbai and Calcutta renamed as Kolkata.
Read more:

Related content