Countries agree to protect the Arctic from overfishing as ice melts

Five nations with claims to the Arctic have signed an agreement aiming to protect the region from overfishing.

Arctic sea ice.

Arctic sea ice. Image by NASA Goddard Space Flight Center / CC BY 2.0

With Arctic sea ice melting at a much greater rate than before, there have been fears that commercial operators would take advantage of the situation. The United States, Russia, Canada, Denmark on behalf of Greenland, and Norway have pledged to ban unregulated fishing in Arctic waters in the absence of any international regulation. Read more:

Places from this story

Related content