go to content go to search box go to global site navigation



Uruguay requires passports of all foreigners, except those from neighboring countries (who need only national identification cards). Nationals of Western Europe, Australia, the USA, Canada and New Zealand automatically receive a 90-day tourist card, renewable for another 90 days. Other nationals may require visas. For extensions, visit the immigration office in Montevideo or local offices in border towns.

Passports are necessary for many everyday transactions, such as cashing traveler’s checks and checking into hotels.