Çifte Minareli Medrese
Unlike the elaborately decorated Çifte Minareli, the Ulu Cami, built in 1179 by the Saltuk Turkish emir of Erzurum, is restrained but...
Walk south between the Çifte Minareli and Ulu Cami until you come to a T-junction. Turn left then immediately right and walk a short...
For Erzurum's best views, head up to the citadel, erected by the emperor Theodosius around the 5th century and subsequently damaged and...
This stunning old wooden house, signposted from Cumhuriyet Caddesi (opposite Caferiye Camii), is filled with Ottoman paraphernalia....
Çifte Minareli Medrese information
Lonely Planet review
Lying east of the centre, the single most definitive image of Erzurum dates from the 1200s when Erzurum was a wealthy Seljuk city, before suffering attack and devastation by the Mongols in 1242. The building is under restoration until 2015. Its facade exemplifies how the Seljuks liked to try out variation even while aiming for symmetry: the panels on either side of the entrance are identical in size and position but different in motif. The panel to the right bears the Seljuk eagle; to the left the motif is unfinished.
The twin brick minarets are decorated with eye-catching small blue tiles. The tops of the minarets are gone, having succumbed to the vagaries of Erzurum's violent history (even before the Ottomans claimed the town).
Walk to the back of the building to see the grand, 12-sided domed hall at the far end of the main courtyard from the entrance. It served as the Hatuniye Türbesi, or Tomb of Huand Hatun, the medrese's founder.