go to content go to search box go to global site navigation

Thorn Tree Forum

Flying with Afriqiyah?

Replies: 8 - Last Post: Oct 8, 2012 12:30 PM Last Post By: Kira

jump to
← Back to topic list

Voyager_2002

Voyager_2002 avatar

Oct 7, 2012 3:00 PM
Posts:  3,890

Flying with Afriqiyah?

Apparently this excellent airline has returned to the skies. While their website offers some attractive fares to a range of African destinations (for example less than 200 pounds to fly to Accra from London Gatwick), none of these fares are available from the main booking websites. Does anyone know what is happening? And any word on the standards of safety and comfort that they are maintaining at the moment?

Kira

Kira avatar

Oct 7, 2012 4:28 PM
Posts:  1,613

1

Would be interesting to see which website you saw that on .. there are quite a few fraudulent sites, one I found with a @arik-air.com e-mail address!!!

They've re-started their UK - Libya flights but not the African ones yet ...

Don't give your credit card details to a site just yet!

Kira

Voyager_2002

Voyager_2002 avatar

Oct 7, 2012 5:19 PM
Posts:  3,890

2

Thanks Kira.

I am confident that the site I found is genuine: it did not allow you to make a booking but gave a telephone number (a land-line in London). I won't give the link in case there is anything funny going on, but Google the obvious and you will find it.

Kira

Kira avatar

Oct 8, 2012 4:14 AM
Posts:  1,613

3

Found it, flights for £199 but have you seen the spelling mistakes? The whole site is crudely put together!

The site is NOT Afriqiyah's (theirs ends in .aero)

I wouldn't touch this site with a barge pole ... am about to send it onto someone who will be bemused (again - there have been lots of these lately!)

Kira

kaz

kaz avatar

Oct 8, 2012 10:09 AM
Posts:  823

4

Shame it's not real, there's a London/Jo'berg flight for £199 on their special offers page!
Glad they're getting things going again though.

Voyager_2002

Voyager_2002 avatar

Oct 8, 2012 10:13 AM
Posts:  3,890

5

That must be a different fake site: the one that I found had London - JNB for 350 pounds.

Perhaps the scammers are having a closing down sale!

Kira

Kira avatar

Oct 8, 2012 12:15 PM
Posts:  1,613

6

Voyageur_2002 - the site I was on had LGW-ACC for £199, that was definitely a scam

This site is the real thing: http://afriqiyah.aero/ Don't accept fakes!!!

Kira

Voyager_2002

Voyager_2002 avatar

Oct 8, 2012 12:18 PM
Posts:  3,890

7

Yes Kira: you found the same fake site as me.

Interesting that the genuine site does not show the service to London that has been running since the summer.

Kira

Kira avatar

Oct 8, 2012 12:30 PM
Posts:  1,613

8

Yup, since May they got LGW back online, god knows how many people might have booked their tickets to the sun for Christmas with that site!!!

Scary!

Kira
← Back to topic list
ADVERTISEMENT

In our shop

See all shop products

Hotels & Hostels

See all hotels & hostels