- 273 Soi 43, Th Charoen Krung
- admission free
- 10am-4pm Wed-Sun
Lonely Planet review for Bangkokian Museum
This collection of three wooden houses illustrates an often-overlooked period of Bangkok’s history, the 1950s and ’60s. The main building was built in 1937 as a home for the Surawadee family and, as the signs inform us, was finished by Chinese carpenters on time and for less than the budgeted 2400B (which would barely buy a door handle today). This building and the large wooden one to the right, which was added as a boarding house to help cover costs, are filled with the detritus of postwar family life and offer a fascinating window into the period. The third building, at the back of the block, was built in 1929 as a surgery for a British doctor, though he died soon after arriving in Thailand.