Aswan Museum & the Ruins of Abu
The ruins of the original town of Abu and the fascinating Aswan Museum lie at the southern end of Elephantine Island. The older part of the museum is housed in the villa of Sir William Willcocks, architect of the old Aswan Dam. Built in 1898, the villa became a museum in 1912. The newer extension was added in 1998.