go to content go to search box go to global site navigation



Visas are required by everyone except nationals of Canada, Germany, Hong Kong, Kenya, South Africa, Sweden, the UK and the USA.

From a Rwandan embassy or consulate, tourist visas are valid for three months, cost US$60 and can be extended in Kigali. Two photos are required, and visas can usually be collected within 24 hours.

Two-week extendible tourist visas are available at the Kigali airport and at the major land borders with Burundi, the DRC, Tanzania and Uganda, for US$60.

Visa extensions

Visas can be extended at the Ministère de l’Intérieur (585856) in Kigali, in the Kacyiru district, about 7km northeast of the city centre. It takes about one week and costs US$30 per month.

Visas for onward travel

Visas for Burundi, the DRC, Tanzania and Uganda are available from embassies in Kigali.

Burundi Visas cost US$40 for one month single entry, although check on the security situation very carefully before visiting. Also available on the border.

Democratic Republic of Congo For land crossings to eastern DR Congo eight-day visas are available at Bukavu or Goma for US$35.

Kenya Visas cost US$50 or the equivalent in local currency, require two photographs and are issued the same day if you apply before 11.30am. However, visas are also available on arrival.

Tanzania Visas require two photos and generally take 24 hours to issue. The cost depends on nationality.

Uganda Visas cost US$30, require two photos and are issued in 24 hours. However, it is far easier to get them at the border on arrival.