Lonely Planet voted best guidebook series by Wanderlust readers

Lonely Planet has again won the Wanderlust award for “Best Guidebook Series” – the fourth year in a row Lonely Planet has received the accolade.

The award was voted for by 3,000 readers of travel magazine, Wanderlust, and the final positions were based on an average percentage for the entry so that the result was based on satisfaction rather than the number of votes.

Lonely Planet’s spokesperson Tom Hall said of the award: “Being voted Best Guidebook Series by Wanderlust readers is an honour for everyone at Lonely Planet. We’re delighted to be once again be recognised by the most passionate travellers in the world as their favourites, and hope to inspire them to more unforgettable adventures over the coming year.”

Commenting on the award, Wanderlust editor-in-chief Lyn Hughes said: “The awards are now in their sixth year and this result proves yet again that regular travellers choose Lonely Planet as their travel bible.”

The award was picked up in person by Tony and Maureen Wheeler, the founders of Lonely Planet who still own and run the company. Tony said of the win “we’ve retained our independence and integrity over the years, and are thrilled that independent travellers all over the world still see our strong ‘no advertising and no paid-for reviews’ policy as one of our key features.  It’s a great honour for us.”

In 2006, Lonely Planet published 157 new books, printed our 80,000,000th book; reached 6.2 million unique visitors per month to LonelyPlanet.com and launched a microsite to share with travellers our passion for sustainable travel and our efforts to make our books ecologically helpful. Lonely Planet is always improving its popular guidebook series and in 2006 introduced more “Do it Yourself” content leading travellers to interesting, newly discovered destinations; expanded the history, economy, politics, and culture sections and added more local voices and insider tips.

The Wanderlust Awards was presented at Destinations Travel Show at Earl’s Court, London on 1st February 2007. Wanderlust Top Guidebook Series finalists were:

1. Lonely Planet

2. Dorling Kindersley

3. Bradt

4. Rough Guides

5. Footprint


For over 30 years, Lonely Planet’s on the ground research and no-holds-barred opinion by our team of expert travel writers has inspired and guided independent travellers to explore the world around them. Lonely Planet is passionate about responsible travel and encourages people to make their impact as positive as possible. Whether it be through our 500 trustworthy and inspiring books, innovative downloadable digital guides, award-winning website or cutting-edge television programmes Lonely Planet aims to inspire life-changing travel and create an un-ending sense of adventure, where every minute can hold a new experience.