Three Crosses’ Mountain
Originally built in 1341 as a stronghold against the Tartar incursion, the castle was extended in the 16th century and embellished...
Museum of Goldsmithery
The tiny Museum of Goldsmithery seems overpriced for its size, but some of the gold and silverwork collection is captivating. Jewellery...
The House of the Celej Family (Kamienica Celejowska), built around 1635, contains the Town Museum . Quaint though the archaeological...
An old rustic house converted into a stylish restaurant with mismatched antique furniture, art on the walls, rugs on the floors and...
Three Crosses’ Mountain information
Lonely Planet review
The path to the right slightly uphill from the parish church, leads to the Three Crosses’ Mountain . If you’re coming from the watchtower, take the path to the left. There is some historical debate about the relationship between the crosses and the plague, which decimated the population of the town in 1708. It’s doubtful whether human remains found at the site when the crosses were erected in 1852 belong to plague victims. Some historians believe that the site was referred to as ‘cross mountain’ long before the cholera epidemic. Whatever the origins of its name, the mountain affords sensational views.