Museo Arqueológico Carlos Pellicer
Ex-Convento Domínico de la Natividad
This monastery, situated east of the zócalo, and the attached church were built by Dominican priests between 1560 and 1588. The...
Set in a courtyard with views of the cliffs and pyramid, this longstanding favorite serves an impressive upscale menu of dishes from...
Museo Arqueológico Carlos Pellicer information
Lonely Planet review
Behind the Dominican church, this archaeology museum has a small but interesting collection of pieces from around the country, donated by Tabascan poet Carlos Pellicer Cámara. The objects on display, a mix of human and animal figures, are lively and vibrant. The stone fragments depicting a pair of rabbits – the symbol for Ometochtli, the leader of the 400 rabbit gods of drunkenness – were discovered at the Tepozteco pyramid site.