go to content go to search box go to global site navigation


Money & costs


The unit of currency is the maloti (M), which is made up of 100 liesente. The maloti is fixed at the value of the South African rand; rands are accepted everywhere but maloti are not accepted back in South Africa. The only foreign-exchange banks (Bank of Lesotho, Nedbank and Standard Bank) are in Maseru.