Shimabara-jō

Shimabara-jō information

Location
Shimabara , Japan
Telephone
+81 957 62 4766
Opening hours
9am-5pm
Something wrong?
Submit a correction

Built between 1618 and 1625, the five-storey, hilltop Shimabara Castle was ruled mostly by the Matsudaira Clan since the 1660s, played a part in the Shimabara Rebellion and was rebuilt in 1964. Amid carp ponds, tangled gardens, almost 4km of mossy walls, picturesque pines and staff dressed in period costumes, the grounds house four museums . Most notable is the main castle, displaying arms, armour and items relating to the Christian uprising with English explanations; and Seibō Kinenkan , dedicated to the work of native son Kitamura Seibō, sculptor of the Nagasaki Peace Statue.