go to content go to search box go to global site navigation

Flights

Flights to Papua

The best price found from United States to Papua is on August 12th, 2016, travelling with . See more options, compare prices and book: search flights.

SEA
Seattle / Tacoma International
from $1953.00
DJJ
Jayapura

Getting around by air

To fly to Papua you must first get to Jakarta, Makassar, Denpasar, Manado or Ambon, then take a domestic flight. For the Baliem Valley, fly first to Jayapura and take an onward flight from there. Jayapura is served by four airlines from Jakarta and Makassar, and by Garuda from Denpasar (via Timika). Jakarta–Jayapura fares are not cheap and start at around 1,500,000Rp one way. For the Raja Ampat Islands, fly to nearby Sorong from Jakarta, Makassar or Manado.

Most commercial flights within Papua cost around 700,000Rp to 1,200,000Rp, plus or minus a hundred thousand or two.

Missionary airlines such as the Roman Catholic Associated Mission Aviation (AMA) and Protestant Mission Aviation Fellowship (MAF) do a lot of flying between small, remote airstrips. They will sometimes carry tourists if they have spare seats. Chartering a small plane for seven to 12 people is another option for routes not served by scheduled flights. Airlines servicing Papua include Batik Air (www.batikair.com), Garuda Indonesia (www.garuda-indonesia.com), Lion Air (www.lionair.co.id), Sriwijaya Air (www.sriwijayaair.co.id), Susi Air (www.susiair.com; flies small planes on local routes within Papua), Trigana Air (www.trigana-air.com), Wings Air (www.lionair.co.id) and Xpress Air (www.xpressair.co.id).