Arjuna Complex

sights / Religious

Arjuna Complex information

admission incl Candi Gatutkaca & Kawah Sikidang 25,000Rp
Something wrong?
Submit a correction

The five main temples that form the Arjuna Complex are clustered together on the central plain. They are Shiva temples, but like the other Dieng temples they have been named after the heroes of the wayang stories of the Mahabharata epic: Arjuna, Puntadewa, Srikandi, Sembadra and Semar. All have mouth-shaped doorways and strange bell-shaped windows and some locals leave offerings, burn incense and meditate here.

Raised walkways link the temples (as most of this land is waterlogged), and you can see the remains of ancient underground tunnels, which once drained the marshy flatlands.

Candi Gatutkaca is a small Shiva temple (a yoni was found inside) with a square base south of the main complex.