Festetics Palace

Festetics Palace information

Keszthely , Hungary
Kastély utca 1
+36 83 312 190
More information
Palace & Coach Museum adult/concession 2300/1150Ft
Opening hours
9am-9pm Jul & Aug, 10am-4pm May, Jun & Sep, reduced hours & closed Mon Oct-Apr
Something wrong?
Submit a correction

The Festetics Palace, built in 1745 and extended 150 years later, contains 100 rooms in two sprawling wings. The 19th-century northern wing houses a music school, city library and conference centre; the Helikon Palace Museum (Helikon Kastélymúzeum) and the palace’s greatest treasure, the renowned Helikon Library (Helikon Könyvtár) are in the baroque south wing.

The museum’s rooms (about a dozen in all, each in a different colour scheme) are full of portraits, bric-a-brac and furniture, much of it brought from England by Mary Hamilton, a duchess who married one of the Festetics men in the 1860s. The library is known for its 100,000-volume collection, but just as impressive is the golden oak shelving and furniture carved in 1801 by local craftsman János Kerbl. Also worth noting are the Louis XIV Salon with its stunning marquetry, the rococo music room and the private chapel (1804).

Behind the palace in a separate building is the Coach Museum , which is filled with coaches and sleighs fit for royalty. Note that the ticket for the palace always includes entry to the Coach Museum, but it is possible to visit the Coach Museum only.